Snapchat, the video messaging app popular with teenagers, has recently launched a new feature that lets users see the location of their friends on a map.

(RGR) Critics quickly warned of it potential dangers saying it raised fears regarding possible stalking and bullying, while concerns over user safety were also sighted.

Aside from the safety fears, Snapchat’s new Map feature is also potentially a massive invasion of privacy.

But it’s not only Snapchat that tracks users, lots of other tech companies do too.

Take Google Maps for example, it’s new Share Location feature tracks you so you can share your location with friends. However, unlike Snap Map it does let you choose who you share your location with.

Facebook also constantly tracks the location of its users and it does so in a number of different ways.

One way is through its ‘Nearby Friends’ feature which is similar to Snap Map but rather than displaying your location on a map, it tells you when friends are close by.

Nearby Friends is only available on the mobile app but many users probably never use it or know it exists.

If you wanted to let your Facebook friends you were nearby wouldn’t you just message them directly or maybe let them know via a status update?

Luckily there is a way you can turn Nearby Friends off.

In the Facebook app, tap on Menu > More > Nearby Friends

With any luck Nearby Friends may already be disabled. But if it isn’t, tap on the gear icon in the top right of the screen and disable the feature.

Nearby Friends isn’t the only Facebook feature which tracks your every move.

Earlier this month, Facebook launched Find Wifi, a handy feature which tells you locations nearby which offer free wifi connections.

However, in order to use the feature you must grant Facebook access to your GPS location data, which it keeps track of even when you are not using the app.